Library committee at the SSL

The SSL welcomes feedback from all its users. Academics, researchers and students are represented through the SSL Committee on Library Provision and Strategy (CLiPS). The committee meets once a term, every Friday of Week 5.

Its remit is to provide guidance and advice to the Social Science Librarian on all aspects of library service provision in the SSL (such as opening hours, book selection and IT), and to consider all matters affecting the administration of the SSL (including the budget and staff).  

Each relevant department has an academic and student representative on the Committee to raise issues of concern, give feedback and pass on information from the Library. The Secretary is Jo Gardner.

The SSL endeavours to be very responsive to the concerns of our readers. Current departmental representatives are listed below. Please only contact your library rep with feedback about the SSL or issues you would like discussed by the committee. For questions about the SSL, or for help with using the library service, please contact the library directly. 

Committee members

Committee Chair

Ariell Ahearn Ligham, School of Geography and the Environment

Centre for Criminology

  • Academic: Katrin Mueller-Johnson  
  • Graduate: Anna Kahlisch, Marilyn Verghis

Department of Economics

  • Academic: James Forder  
  • Graduate: Tobias Kawalec, Johanna Roth, Jonathan Israel  

School of Geography and the Environment

  • Academic: Ariell Ahearn Ligham
  • Graduate: Faizal Bin Abdul Aziz
  • Undergraduate: Rachel Whitchurch

International Development and Refugee Studies

  • Academic: TBC
  • International Development Graduate: Malvika Gupta
  • Migration Studies: Natasha Arroyeve Monsalve
  • Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Graduate: Alexandra Kersley
  • Global Governance Graduate: Ruth Agui, Max Fink

Department of Politics and International Relations

  • Academic: Nick Owen
  • Politics MPhil: Shree Shah, Alani Sweezy
  • Politics DPhil: TBC
  • International Relations MPhil: Virginia Nizza, Scott Singer 
  • International Relations DPhil: Kan Li  
  • Politics Undergraduate: Otto Barrow

Department of Social Policy and Intervention

  • Academic: Rossella Ciccia
  • CSP Graduate: Divya Vatsa
  • EBSIPE Graduate: Sarah Ang, Andrew Rosenblatt

Centre for Socio-Legal Studies

  • Academic: Anna Tsalapatanis
  • Graduate: TBC

Department of Sociology

  • Academic: Marti Rovira  
  • Graduate: Haohao Lei