Opening Hours

From Monday 17 August, readers will be admitted to the Social Science Library to use our study spaces and consult our onsite collections.

Access to the library is strictly by advance booking only, to ensure the continued safety of our staff and readers.

To book a desk space, including desks with PCs, height-adjustable desks and study carrels, please visit our bookings page, select the category of workspace you would like to use and make a booking for the date(s) you wish to visit the library.

You can book workspaces from a minimum of one day to a maximum of two weeks in advance.

Note that study sessions Monday to Friday are divided in to morning and afternoon study sessions. If you have booked only the morning session, you will be invited to leave the library before the beginning of the afternoon session. You can come and go from the library throughout the study session you have booked.

After submitting your request, you will receive a confirmation email containing important information on the new arrangements in place in our libraries. Please read this carefully.

For more information on the re-opening of Bodleian Libraries Reading Rooms, please visit: https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/using/reading-rooms.

Term (Weeks 1 - 8)

Sunday
11am - 7pm

Monday to Friday
2 study sessions:

  • Mornings: 9.30am-1.30pm (readers permitted to stay until 2pm)
  • Afternoons: 2pm-7pm  

Saturday
10am - 6pm

Vacation

Sunday (Christmas and Summer Vacations)
CLOSED

Sunday (Easter Vacation)
To be confirmed

Monday to Friday
10am - 4pm

Saturday (Christmas and Easter Vacations)
To be confirmed

Saturday (Summer Vacation)
CLOSED

Library Closing Time

A bell is rung 20 minutes before library closing to alert readers that the study session will soon end. Please return Closed Stack books to the desk and check out books for loan in good time before the library closes to avoid queues building up at closing time.

Closures 2020-21 (dates inclusive)

  • From Thursday 24 December 2020 to Sunday 3 January 2021
    The Library will close at 17:00 on Wednesday 23 December 2020 and reopen at 9:00 on Monday 4 January 2021
  • From Friday 2 April 2021 to Monday 5 April 2021
    The Library will close at 19:00 on Thursday 1 April 2021 and reopen at 9:00 on Tuesday 6 April 2021
  • From Saturday 28 August 2021 to Monday 30 August 2021
    The Library will close at 19:00 on Friday 27 August 2021 and reopen at 9:00 on Tuesday 31 August 2021
Back to top