Opening hours

Old Library: Upper and Lower Reading Rooms

Term (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9am-10pm, Sat 10am-4pm, Sun 12pm-6pm.

Vacation:

Mon-Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 10am-4pm.

The Upper and Lower Reading Rooms in the Old Library open 12pm-6pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sunday 8 December 2019; Sunday 15 March and Sunday 21 June 2020). They will also be open on the following additional Sundays over the forthcoming Christmas vacation: 15 December, 5 January, 12 January. Note, the Library will be closed on Sunday 22 December.

See below for forthcoming closed periods. 

Old Library: Duke Humfrey's Library

Term (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 10am-4pm.  

Vacation: 

Mon-Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 10am-4pm. 

See below for forthcoming closed periods. 

Radcliffe Camera: Upper Camera and Lower Camera Reading Rooms

Term (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9am-10pm, Sat 10am-4pm, Sun 12pm-6pm. 

Vacation:

Mon-Fri 9am-7pm, Sat 10am-4pm

The Upper and Lower Camera reading rooms in the Radcliffe Camera open 12pm-6pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sunday 8 December 2019; Sunday 15 March and Sunday 21 June 2020). They will also be open on the following additional Sundays over the forthcoming Christmas vacation: 15 December, 5 January, 12 January. Note, the Library will be closed on Sunday 22 December.

See below for forthcoming closed periods. 

Gladstone Link

Term (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9am-9.30pm (entry closes at 9.15 pm), Sat 10am-3.30pm, Sun 12pm-5.30pm

Vacation:

Mon-Fri 9am-6.30pm, Sat 10am-3.30pm

The Gladstone Link opens 12pm-5.30pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sunday 8 December 2019; Sunday 15 March and Sunday 21 June 2020). It will also be open on the following additional Sundays over the forthcoming Christmas vacation: 15 December, 5 January, 12 January. Note, the Library and Link will be closed on Sunday 22 December.

Note: Access to the Gladstone Link ceases 15 minutes before the advertised closing time in order to facilitate the clearing of the space. 

See below for forthcoming closed periods. 

Closed Periods

Christmas 2019/New Year 2020

The Bodleian Library and Radcliffe Camera will close at 5pm on Monday 23 December 2019 and will reopen at 9am on Thursday 2 January 2020. Although the Library is offering additional Sunday opening over the forthcoming Christmas vacation (see above), it will be closed on 22 December.

Easter 2020

The Bodleian Library and Radcliffe Camera are closed Friday 10 April - Monday 13 April 2020 inclusive.

Encaenia (Honorary Degree Ceremony) 2020

To be confirmed. 

August Bank Holiday 2020

The Bodleian Library and Radcliffe Camera are closed Saturday 29 August - Monday 31 August 2020 inclusive.
 

Weston Library reading rooms

Special Collections are now read in the Weston Library reading rooms


University of Oxford dates of full term:

Michaelmas 2018: Sunday 7 October to Saturday 1 December

Hilary 2019: Sunday 13 January to Saturday 9 March

Trinity 2019: Sunday 28 April to Saturday 22 June

 

The University of Oxford Dates of Term page gives provisional dates for later years. 

Back to top