Bodleian Libraries Chair shortlisted for Icon Furniture Design of the Year Award 2014

23 October 2014

The Bodleian Libraries Chair designed by Edward Barber OBE and Jay Osgerby OBE has been shortlisted in the furniture design category for an Icon award. Awarded annually, the prestigious Icon awards are judged by industry experts and focus on socially responsible and ethical projects in eleven Bodleian Libraries chair imagedesign categories from high-profile architecture to interiors and exhibitions.

The Barber Osgerby duo were successfully selected as the winners of the Bodleian Libraries prized Chair Competition in September 2013. The winning three-legged oak chair design is only the third bespoke seat to be made for the University of Oxford's Bodleian Libraries since 1756. The chair was manufactured in the UK by Isokon Plus and was recently installed in the newly-refurbished Weston Library, which opened to academics on 29 September 2014. An official opening is planned for March 2015.

In 2012, the Barber Osgerby duo won the internationally acclaimed Designs of the Year award for their iconic design of the London 2012 Olympic Torch, and earlier this year the Bodleian Libraries Chair was shortlisted in the Designs of the Year 2014 competition, run by the Design Museum in London. The Chair has also been shortlisted for the Elle Decoration Best British Design Award.

The winners of the Icon awards will be announced at a ceremony on 4 December. View the full list of nominees.

Image credit Jamie Smith.

Back to top