Subject Librarians

Subject enquiries should be directed to the relevant subject librarian. If your subject is not listed, please use our Ask an Oxford Librarian service. For advice and assistance in using special collections, see the Special Collections pages.

A

African and Commonwealth Studies
Sarah Rhodes
sarah.rhodes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285998

Anatomy
Karine Barker
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272802

Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Diane Bergman
diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278089

Anthropology
Helen Worrell
helen.worrell@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 274582

Archaeology
Helen Worrell
helen.worrell@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288190 (Sackler Library)

Art and Architecture
Clare Hills-Nova
clare.hills-nova@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278094

B

Bibliography and the History of the Book
Alan Coates
alan.coates@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277072

Biochemistry
Karine Barker
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 272802

Biology
Oliver Bridle
oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272854

Business
Chris Flegg
chris.flegg@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288882

Byzantine Art and Archaeology
Diane Bergman
diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278089

C

Celtic
Janet Foot
janet.foot@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278159

Chemistry
Ljilja Ristic
ljilja.ristic@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272816

Chinese Studies
Joshua Seufert
joshua.seufert@bodleian.ox.ac.uk (Chinese Language Research Collections)
+44 (0)1865 280437

Minh Chung
minh.chung@bodleian.ox.ac.uk Teaching and Western Language Collections)
+44 (0)1865 280432

Classics and Ancient History
Charlotte Goodall
charlotte.goodall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277159 (Bodleian Library)
+44 (0)1865 288049 (Sackler Library)

Computing
Alessandra Vetrugno
alessandra.vetrugno@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272817

Conservation
Ros Buck
chantrylibrary@icon.org.uk
+44 (0)1865 251303

Continuing Education
Sue Pemberton
susan.pemberton@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270398

Criminology
Elizabeth Wells
elizabeth.wells@bodleian.ox.ac.uk (Law Research and Teaching Collections)
+44 (0)1865 271463
Jo Gardner
jo.gardner@bodleian.ox.ac.uk (Social Science Teaching Collections)
+44 (0)1865 278721

D

Development Studies
Sarah Rhodes
sarah.rhodes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285998

Dutch/Afrikaans
Johanneke Sytsema
johanneke.sytsema@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278166/58

E

Earth Sciences
Andrew Kernot
andrew.kernot@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272839

Economics
John Southall
john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285936

Education
Catherine Scutt
catherine.scutt@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 274011

Egyptology
Diane Bergman
diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278089

Engineering
Alessandra Vetrugno
alessandra.vetrugno@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272817

English
Helen Scott
helen.scott@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271051

Environment
Andrew Kernot
andrew.kernot@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272839

Experimental Psychology
Karine Barker
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272802

F

Film Studies
Helen Scott
helen.scott@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271051

Finance
Chris Flegg
chris.flegg@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288882

Forestry
Oliver Bridle
oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272854

French
Nick Hearn
nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270462

Frisian
Johanneke Sytsema
johanneke.sytsema@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278166/58

G

Genetics
Karine Barker 
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 272802

Geography
Andrew Kernot
andrew.kernot@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272839

German/Yiddish
Emma Huber
emma.huber@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278153

Greek (Modern)
Kostas Skordyles
kostas.skordyles@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270473 

H

Hebrew and Jewish Studies
Cesar Merchan Hamann 
cesar.merchan-hamann@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277031

Hispanic Studies
Joanne Ferrari
joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288033

History (British, European and United States)
Isabel Holowaty (History Librarian and Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine Library)
Isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277263/277294

History of Science and Medicine
Isabel Holowaty
Isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277263 / 277294
Karine Barker
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272802

Human Sciences
Sarah Rhodes (Social Sciences)
sarah.rhodes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285998
Karine Barker (Human Sciences)
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272802

Hungarian
Zsuzsanna Varga
zsuzsanna.varga@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270469

I

International Development
Sarah Rhodes
sarah.rhodes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285998

Islamic Studies
Lydia Wright
lydia.wright@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 287289

Italian Literature and Language
Clare Hills-Nova
clare.hills-nova@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278094

J

Japanese Studies
Izumi Tytler
izumi.tytler@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 284502
Yukiko Kissick
yuki.kissick@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 284504

K

Korean Studies
Minh Chung
minh.chung@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 280432

L

Latin American Studies
Joanne Ferrari (Languages, Literatures, and History)
joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288033
Frank Egerton (Social Sciences)
frank.egerton@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 274483 

Law
Elizabeth Wells
elizabeth.wells@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271463

Linguistics
Johanneke Sytsema
johanneke.sytsema@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278166/58

M

Management Studies
Chris Flegg
chris.flegg@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288882

Materials
Ljilja Ristic
ljilja.Ristic@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272816

Mathematics
Ljilja Ristic
ljilja.Ristic@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272816

Medicine: Clinical
Donald Mackay (Head of Bodleian Health Care Libraries)
donald.mackay@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 221950

Medicine: Pre-clinical
Karine Barker
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 272802

Music
Martin Holmes
martin.holmes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 276146 

N

Numismatics
Diane Bergman
diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278089

O

Official Papers
Hannah Chandler
hannah.chandler@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271472

Ornithology
Sophie Wilcox
sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271143

P

Palaeography and Manuscript Studies
Martin Kauffmann
martin.kauffmann@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277155

Persian Studies
Lydia Wright
lydia.wright@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277601

Philosophy
Hilla Wait
hilla.wait@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 276927 (Philosophy Library)

Physics
Ljilja Ristic
ljilja.ristic@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272816

Physiology
Karine Barker 
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 272802

Plant Sciences
Oliver Bridle
oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272854

Plant Taxonomy
Anne Catterall
anne.catterall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272082 

Politics and International Relations
Jo Gardner
jo.gardner@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278721

Portuguese
Joanne Ferrari
joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288033

Psychology
Karine Barker 
karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 272802

R

Refugee Studies
Sarah Rhodes
sarah.rhodes@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285998

Research Data Management
John Southall (Social Science) 
john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285936

Romanian
Adina Bradeanu
adina.bradeanu@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278166

S

Slavonic, Central and Eastern European Studies
Angelina Gibson
angelina.gibson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270468

Slavonic Literature and Language
Nick Hearn
nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270462
Barbara Baj Wojtowicz (Slavonic Regional Specialist)
barbara.bajwojtowicz@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270467

Social Policy and Intervention
John Southall
john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 285936

Socio-Legal Studies
Jo Gardner (Social Science Teaching Collections)
jo.gardner@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 278721
Elizabeth Wells (Law Research and Teaching Collections)
elizabeth.wells@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 271463

Sociology
John Southall
john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 
+44 (0)1865 285936

South Asian Studies
Gillian Evison (Classical Collections)
gillian.evison@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277033
Emma Mathieson
+44 (0)1865 277081

Spanish
Joanne Ferrari
joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 288033

Staff Library
Emma Sullivan
emma.sullivan@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277605

Statistics
Ljilja Ristic
ljilja.Ristic@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272816

T

Theology
Hilla Wait
hilla.wait@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 270732

Tibetan
Charles Manson
charles.manson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277083

Turkish Studies
Lydia Wright
lydia.wright@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 277601

U

US Studies
Jane Rawson
jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282701

Z

Zoology
Oliver Bridle
oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 272854

Back to top