Opening hours

Old Library: Upper and Lower Reading Rooms

Term Hours (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9.00am-10.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm, Sun 11.00am-5.00pm

Vacation Hours:

Mon-Fri 9.00am-7.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm.

The Library will also open 11.00-5.00 pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sun 10 March, Sun 16 June and Sun 8 Dec 2013).

Closed Periods:

The Old Library will be closed on Good Friday and Easter Saturday. The Upper and Lower reading rooms (not Duke Humfrey's) will open on Easter Monday 2014, 9.00 - 5:00pm. The Library will be closed over the August Bank Holiday.

Christmas & New Year 2013/14: Friday 20 December: all parts of the Library close at 17.00; Saturday 21 December: Upper and Lower reading rooms open 10.00-16.00 - no book-service; Monday 23 December: Lower reading room only, open 9.00-17.00 - no book-service. 

Normal opening hours resume at 9.00 on Thurs 2 January 2014. 

Old Library: Duke Humfrey's Library

Term Hours (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9.00am-7.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm

Vacation Hours:

Mon-Fri 9.00am-7.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm

Closed Periods:

Duke Humfrey's will be closed over the Easter weekend: this includes Easter Monday, even though the Old Library Upper and Lower reading rooms will open 9.00am - 5.00pm. The Library will be closed over August Bank Holiday.

Christmas & New Year 2013/14: Duke Humfrey's closes at 17.00 on Fri 20 December and re-opens to readers at 9.00 on Thurs 2 January 2014.

Radcliffe Camera: Upper Camera and Lower Camera Reading Rooms

Term Hours (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9.00am-10.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm, Sun 11.00am-5.00pm.

Vacation Hours:

Upper Camera: Mon-Fri 9.00am-7.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm

Lower Camera: Mon-Fri 9.00am-7.00pm, Sat 10.00am-4.00pm.

The Library will also open 11.00am-5.00pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sun 10 March, Sun 16 June and 8 Dec 2013).

Closed Periods:

The Library will be closed on Good Friday and Easter Saturday. It will open on Easter Monday 2014, 9.00 - 5.00pm. The Library will be closed over August Bank Holiday.

Christmas & New Year 2013/14: The Radcliffe Camera closes at 17.00 on Fri 20 December and re-opens to readers at 9.00 on Thurs 2 January 2014

Gladstone Link

Term Hours (find term dates):

Mon-Fri 9.00am-9.30pm, Sat 10.00am-3.30pm, Sun 11.00am-4.30pm.

Vacation Hours:

Mon-Fri 9.00am-6.30pm, Sat 10.00am-3.30pm.

The Gladstone Link will also open 11.00am-4.30pm on the first Sunday of each vacation (Sun 8 Dec 2013, Sun 16 March and Sun 22 June).

Closed Periods:

The Link will be closed on Good Friday and Easter Saturday. It will open on Easter Monday 2014, 9.00am - 4.15pm. The Link will be closed over August Bank Holiday.

Christmas & New Year 2013/14: The Gladstone Link closes at 16.30 on Friday 20 December 2013 and re-opens to readers at 9.00 on Thurs 2 January 2014. 

Note:

Access to the Gladstone Link normally ceases 15 minutes before the advertised time of its closure in order to facilitate the clearing of the space.

RSL: Special Collections Reading Room

The Special Collections Reading Room at the Radcliffe Science Library is now closed. Special Collections will be read in the new reading rooms of the Weston Library from 29 September 2014.


University of Oxford dates of full term:

Michaelmas 2013: Sunday 13 October to Saturday 7 December

Hilary 2014: Sunday 19 January to Saturday 15 March

Trinity 2014: Sunday 27 April to Saturday 21 June

Michaelmas 2014: Sunday 12 October to Saturday 6 December

Hilary 2015: Sunday 18 January to Saturday 14 March

Trinity 2015: Sunday 26 April to Saturday 20 June

The University of Oxford Dates of Term page gives provisional dates for later years. 

Back to top