TABS electrical work AND extended closed period, Saturday 23 August - Tuesday 9 September, inclusive

[Update 19.09.14: Work on the First and Second Floor will now continue beyond Monday 22nd September. It is hoped that it will be completed by the end of the week.]

[Update 22.08.14: Work on the First and Second Floors will now continue from Wednesday 10th September, when the library reopens, till, it is hoped, Monday 22nd September. During this period there will be limited or no reader access to these floors, although staff will be happy to fetch books for you. Once this phase is finished, there will be no further work until the Christmas vacation (much of the work happening in between Christmas and New Year). We shall post more details of this final phase, which will take place on the Ground Floor, nearer the time.]

During the summer and early autumn, the wiring throughout the Taylor Bodleian Slavonic and Modern Greek Library will be upgraded.

This necessary work has been planned to cause as little inconvenience as possible. For most of the time, when areas are closed to readers, library staff will be able to fetch books on request. The work will be done floor-by-floor, so that alternative reading rooms will be available.

Nevertheless, in order to complete the work on the Ground Floor, it will be necessary to close the library to readers and staff by extending the usual summer closed period by ten days. This will mean that the library is closed from the Saturday before the late summer bank holiday until the last day of St Giles' Fair, inclusive: Saturday 23 August - Tuesday 9th September, inclusive.

A schedule of the proposed works appears below.

Further details of the work will posted on the Taylor website in due course. If you have any immediate questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Taylor and TABS Operations Manager: frank.egerton@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this work.

Work Schedule (electrical and flooring) - see Update 22.08.14 above for revised timing

  • Basement: Mon 23 Jun - Thu 24 Jul
  • Second Floor: Mon 4 Aug - Wed 27 Aug
  • Ground Floor - Sat 23 Aug - Fri 26 Sep (electrical and part of flooring); Mon 29 Sep - Fri 3 Oct (remaining flooring)
  • First Floor - Mon 29 Sep - Fri 24 Oct

Back to top