Training, workshops & guides

Making the Most of the Bodleian Library

Forthcoming sessions in 2015: 

 Monday 5th January 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 6th January 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 8th January 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 12th January 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 13th January 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 15th January 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 19th January 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 20th January 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 22th January 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 26th January 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 27th January 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 29th January 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 2nd February 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 3rd February 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 5th February 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 9th February 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 10th February 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 12th February 9.30am-10.30am
 Monday 16th February 2pm-3pm
 Tuesday 17th February 2pm-3pm
 Thursday 19th February 9.30am-10.30am

The timetable is also available to download or print as a PDF here

All sessions are general ones, providing a practical introduction to the Bodleian within the context of the Bodleian Libraries, with hands-on guidance in the use of the search and discovery tool Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO), the automated stack request system. The sessions are run in the Training Room located in the Old Bodleian Library Lower Reading Room. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the library environment, these sessions do not include a tour of the library.

To book a place or find out more

  • telephone 01865 (2)77162
  • email reader.services@bodleian.ox.ac.uk (include your name, general subject area, University or library card number, and date of session)
  • visit the Main Enquiry Desk (first floor of the Old Library)

On the day of your session please report to the Main Enquiry Desk promptly, or let us know if you are unable to attend. 

Readers requiring specific help with science resources may wish to book a place on a Making the Most of the Radcliffe Science Library session (the Radcliffe Science Library holds legal deposit material in the sciences for Oxford University, the central Bodleian does not hold science books).

Other courses for library users

To find out more about the library resources available to you, including those specific to your subject area, visit the Training and Workshops web page on the Bodleian Libraries' website.

Guides

A range of guides to the Bodleian Libraries subjects and collections, electronic resources, libraries and services is available from the Guides page.

The Bodleian Libraries programmes of workshops, guides and tutorials aim to develop you skills in information discovery and scholarly communications and cover:

  • Information discovery and searching for scholarly materials
  • Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero and Mendeley for managing references and formatting footnotes and bibliographies
  • Keeping up to date with new research
  • Measuring research impact 
  • Understanding copyright and looking after your intellectual property
  • Open Access publishing and complying with funder mandates for open access
  • Managing your research data

Classes and workshops

Bodleian iSkills - workshops in information discovery and scholarly communications covering searching for scholarly materials, keeping up to date with the latest research, reference management, measuring impact,  copyright and protecting your intellectual property, open access and research data management.

Workshops for your subject - workshops focussing on key resources and tools for particular subject groups.

Oxford LibGuides: subject guides and research skills

Oxford LibGuides provides a wide range of guides to subject resources, research techniques and information skills.

Need Help?

Please contact:

Related links

  • Training and workshops for library users
    Complete list of training courses available
  • Guides
    Downloadable guides for subjects, libraries and e-resources
  • Bodleian reader's guide
    Download and print (PDF)
Back to top