Project Participants

Deep a draught (detail)What's the score at the Bodleian? 

Steering Group

Richard Ovenden, Bodley's Librarian

Mike Heaney, Executive Secretary, Bodleian Libraries

Martin Holmes, Alfred Brendel Curator of Music

David Tomkins, Project Manager

Ylva Berglund Prytz, Project Consultant

Advisory Committee

Professor David De Roure

Dave De Roure is a Professor of e-Research in the Oxford e-Research Centre and National Strategic Director for e-Social Science. Closely involved in the UK e-Science programme, his projects draw on Web 2.0, Semantic Web, workflow and pervasive computing technologies and he focuses on the co-evolution of digital technologies and research methods in and between multiple disciplines. These include digital humanities (computational musicology), social sciences (social statistics), chemistry (smart labs), bioinformatics (in silico experimentation) and environmental science (sensor networks).  He has an extensive background in Web and Linked Data, runs the social website and is a Web Science champion for the Web Science Trust.

Dr J P E Harper-Scott

Dr J P E Harper-Scott has so far focused on an examination of music's cultural, personal, and interpersonal significance in the last two centuries. It draws extensively on Heidegger and the explanatory resources of music theory.

Dr Harper-Scott is Senior Lecturer at the Department of Music, Royal Holloway University of London.

Dr Elizabeth Eva Leach

Dr Leach is both a music theorist and musicologist, with wide-ranging interests in everything from the minutiae of musical structures and manuscripts to the broadest cultural, historical, and philosophical contexts for music.  Her principal focus has been on music and poetry of the fourteenth century, although she has also written about songs from both earlier and later periods.

In the Faculty, Dr Leach lectures on the core historical courses for both the undergraduate and the taught postgraduate degrees, as well as offering an options course on the music of Guillaume de Machaut.

Dr Stuart Lee

Dr Lee is currently Director, Computing Systems and Services, at Oxford University's Computing Services, but was formerly Head of the University's Learning Technologies Group which he set up in 2001. He is a member of several senior University ICT committees, has led major research projects in the fields of digitisation, humanities computing, and e-learning; and is also a lecturer and researcher at Oxford’s English Faculty.

In 2008 Dr Lee was made Oxford's Reader in E-learning and Digital Libraries and received a University Teaching Award. He is also a National Teaching Fellow (HEA) and Lecturer, Faculty of English Language and Literature at the University of Oxford. 

Richard Ovenden

Richard Ovenden is the 25th Bodley's Librarian. He was educated at Durham University and University College London, and has worked as a professional librarian since 1985. He has served on the staff of Durham University Library, the House of Lords Library, the National Library of Scotland (as Deputy Head of the Rare Books Section), at the University of Edinburgh (as Director of Collections), and as Keeper of Special Collections, Associate Director, and most latterly Deputy Librarian for Bodleian Libraries.

Currently Associate Director and Keeper of Special Collections, Bodleian Libraries, Richard sits on JISC's Content Services Committee and Digitization Advisory Group, is a Board Member of the Digital Preservation Coalition and serves on numerous other boards and committees. He has published widely on the history of collecting, the history of photography and on professional concerns of the library, archive, and information world. He currently heads Oxford's involvement with the Google mass digitization project. He holds a Professorial Fellowship at St Hugh's College, Oxford.

Sarah E Thomas

Sarah Thomas was Bodley's Librarian from February 2007 to May 2013. She was the first woman and non-British citizen to hold the position in 400 years. She is currently Vice President for the Harvard Library. From 1996-2007 she was Cornell's University Librarian. Previously she has worked at the Library of Congress, the National Agricultural Library, the Research Libraries Group, and Harvard's Widener Library.

Thomas led in the establishment of the Program for Cooperative Cataloguing at the Library of Congress, and has been active in scholarly communication initiatives. Under her direction the Cornell University Library was honoured with the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries award in 2002. Thomas received the Melvil Dewey Award from the American Library Association in 2007. She has also served as the President of the Association of Research Libraries. In 2009 she was selected to the Simmons College Alumni Achievement Award. In 2010 Smith College awarded her the Smith Medal for exemplifying in her life and work the true purpose of a liberal arts education. Also in 2010, under her leadership, the Bodleian Libraries were awarded the Queen's Anniversary Prize for the excellence of their collections and their efforts, along with six other cultural heritage entities of the University of Oxford, in widening access to their historic collections.

Thomas graduated from Smith College in 1970, received a Master of Science in library science from Simmons College in 1973, and a PhD in German literature in 1983. 

Other participants

The project also receives support and guidance from the staff of the Bodleian's Systems and e-Research Service (SERS), particularly Christine Madsen, Neil JefferiesRenhart Gittens and Ian Chard, from Michael Popham and Matthew McGrattan of the Bodleian Digital Library Systems and Services, from Joseph Talbot of the OUCS Web Design Consultancy, and from Chris Lintott, Arfon Smith and Stuart Lynn of Zooniverse.

Top right image: Detail of first page of 'Fill me boy as deep a Draught', a glee by T Cooke. 

Back to top