Page Contents

11 February 2014

Bodleian-Libraries-Chair-Competition_-Jamie-Smith_003The forthcoming Bodleian Libraries Chair designed by Edward Barber OBE and Jay Osgerby OBE is among the nominations for Design of the Year 2014 in the Furniture category. Awarded annually by the Design Museum in London, the prestigious prize celebrates design across seven categories: Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Furniture, Graphic, Product and Transport.

In September 2013, the Barber Osgerby duo were successfully selected as the winner of the highly coveted Bodleian Libraries Chair Competition. The Bodleian Libraries chair is being manufactured in the UK by Isokon Plus for installation in the newly-refurbished Weston Library, which will open its doors to readers in October 2014. The three-legged oak chair is a contemporary response to the brief which combines a strong sense of craft heritage, sculptural form and complex reader requirements. In 2012, the Barber Osgerby duo won the internationally acclaimed Design of the Year award for their iconic design of the London 2012 Olympic Torch.

The 76 shortlisted nominations will be on display at the Design Museum in London from 26 March to 25 August 2014. A winner from each category and one overall Design of the Year winner will be announced later in the year. The full list of nominees and more information can be found at

Back to top